Smiles, congrats all round as 50 newly promoted UTech staff recognised

was smiles and congratulations all round as 50 newly promoted academic staff at the University of Technology, Jamaica (UTech) were formally recognised for their progression to the ranks of professor, associate professor and senior lecturers at a special ceremony hosted by UTech President Dr Kevin Brown last Thursday.

At the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management Hotel, Papine campus, Dr Brown welcomed into the fold eight new professors, nine associate professors and 33 new senior lecturers, saying they were “the largest cohort of academics and members of faculties to be promoted” all at once.

Dr Brown noted that approval came from the University Appointments and Promotions Committee (UAPC) at its meetings held on March 28, 2023 and on June 7, 2023, later ratified on April 19 and June 15, 2023, bringing them into effect in March and June 2023.

“The recommendations for the appointments took into consideration the extensive body of teaching, research work and publication of all applicants, as well as their demonstrated leadership and service to the university and in the wider community,” he said.

President Brown charged the new appointees to continue lending their expertise to the furtherance of the university’s mission by “breaking new frontiers in science, technology, engineering, the arts and mathematics ([TEAM], in a manner that will advance new knowledge and positive growth in society”.

On hand to congratulate the new appointees were deputy chair UTech, Jamaica Council, Aldrick “Allie” McNab; state minister in the Ministry of Education and Youth, Marsha Smith; and guest speaker, Reverend Dr Stevenson Samuels, university chaplain and senior pastor of the Waltham Park New Testament Church of God.

Responding on behalf of the promoted academics was professor of geomatics education and dean of the Faculty of The Built Environment, Garfield Young who thanked the UTech president for organising the event.

For her part, Professor Shermaine Barrett, dean of the Faculty of Education and Liberal Studies, congratulated her fellow academics and encouraged them to “live life while it is happening” even as they stepped into their new ranks.

The new professors are: Kamilah Hylton, chemistry; Damith Wickramanayake, computer science; Garfield Young, geomatics education; Marva Blankson, civil engineering; Gaunette Sinclair-Maragh, tourism development & management; Sonia Richards-Malcolm, clinical laboratory sciences; Earle Wilson, mechanical engineer, and Haldane Johnson, technical education and education administration.

The associate professors are: Ava Simpson; Dean Reid; Lisa Facey-Shaw; Eraldine Williams-Shakespeare; Junior Martin; Susan Muir; Warrick Lattibeaudaire; Henry Lewis, and Balvin Thorpe.

New senior lecturers are: Everton Lewis; Nellian Hutton Rose; Nikki Bramwell; Anthonette Patterson Bartley; Genevive Shaw; Gillian Mignott; Andrea Fender Longman; Modupeola Abayomi; Audrey Porter-DaCosta; Stephanie Mullings; Donna-Marie Newby; Petula Senior; Vivia Clarke; Meisha-Marie Paul; Kirk Wilson; Patricia Roberts-Brown; Sharon Hall; Shelly-Ann Irons; Damion Nesbeth; Terry-Ann Gaynor-Clarke; Courtney Palmer; Keniel Roberts; Elorene Hewitt; Jenevy Smith; Seymour Fisher; Milton Richardson; Rosalee Sawyers; Racquel Burton Edwards; Adonna Jardine-Corrine; Salvador Martinez; Abdul Antonie; Lisa Bromfield; and Kathleen Lobban.