Warren is provisional Rally Club champ

Ian warren is the Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) champion driver elect, after claiming his sixth Clubman 2 class win of the season in Sunday’s BRC Winter Rally at the wheel of his BimmaCup.

The seventh and final round of the BRC Driver’s and Class Championships fought out in St John and St Joseph provided a dramatic climax to the season as the front-runners suffered a day of mixed fortunes.

Overall victory confirmed Dane Skeete (Subaru Impreza WRC S12) as provisional 4-wheel-drive champion for the third time in five years. With a total time of 19 minutes, 19.96 seconds for the nine stages, Skeete beat brothers Mark and Stuart Maloney (Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) by just over 14 seconds, with Britain’s Rob Swann and local co-driver Geoff Goddard third in their Fabia R5, less than three seconds behind after swapping times all day.

With three of the top drivers in the title chase – Neil Corbin, Horatio Brown and Stuart Maloney – absent for various reasons, points-leader Roger Mayers endured trouble before the start. When an incurable misfire grounded his Toyota WR Starlet, brother Barry handed over his Ford Fiesta (and co-driver Ben Norris), but switching ecus between cars sent them OTL, spelling the end of the strongest title challenge Mayers had mounted in some years. He will finish third but is still provisional two-wheel-drive and SuperModified 2 champion. (PR)